Edam! It’s Gouda for You

I remember being served cheeses each morning at breakfast when I visited Europe; it’s a normal part of their diet.  I had always considered it an indulgence.  But, when I heard that (hard) cheese is actually good for your health and, in fact, can protect against cancer cell growth, I just had to learn more.   The information that was most easy to digest (excuse the pun) came from the Dr. Oz website.  He says:

Lower Cancer Risk

Eating certain types of hard cheeses, including Gouda, Edam, Emmenthal and Jarlsburg, can lower your risk of developing cancer. Why? Because these cheeses contain a form of vitamin K called vitamin K2 (the scientific name is menaquinone) that is both antiangiogenic (blood vessel-inhibiting) and also kills cancer cells directly. The studies indicate that eating as few as 2 slices of these hard cheeses a day can lower your overall risk for cancer, including lung cancer and prostate cancer. You can find these cheeses in your local grocery store.

Be Heart Healthy

You might be wondering whether eating cheese often is such a good idea?  Well, in this case, it turns out that vitamin K2 also protects the heart by preventing hardening of the arteries.

Many of the medical studies I’ve cited were done in Europe where cheese is regularly eaten, even on a daily basis, including breakfast. Personally, I think the research is so compelling that we should all find ways to add vitamin K2 into our diets. If you are a cheese lover, gouda and the other types I listed are good choices. For people who are lactose intolerant or who just don’t like dairy, chicken is another good source of vitamin K2. Not the whole chicken, but the dark meat like the thighs and drumsticks.

This is one tip I look forward to including in my nutrition plan.  Sounds like it would be good for our carees too.

all my best,

Karen Cameron
www.CheckInCalls.com & www.Memoir-Maker.com

Source:  www.DoctorOz.com

2 Comments

Filed under Tips for Caregivers

2 responses to “Edam! It’s Gouda for You

  1. Gail

    Interesting. My inlaws arefrom switzerland and Emmentaler(swiiss) cheese is a main staple of thier diet.My FOL is 88 with no sign of heart disease or cancer. His mom died peacefullt just shy of 100.

Leave a comment